rest. reset. recharge.

Batha Mthombeni
4 min readJul 25, 2020

“It’s a lot. It really is a lot. I don’t know if I’m coming or going, and honestly… I feel like I’m drowning.” — Anonymous

I sat there, with a cup of Earl Grey tea in hand, and listened to a close friend and former colleague utter those words. Even though these words were uttered to me over our weekly check-up Zoom call, it was apparent to me, that my strong friend had reached her ‘limit’. I believe, in many instances of our lives, we have all reached our ‘breaking points’, and if there was ever a time for us to ‘check-in’ on our strong friends, it is now.

We are living in unpredictable and increasingly ‘wild’ times. The world is changing at an alarming rate, and nothing is no longer ‘constant’. The reality is, not a day goes by when you don’t wake up to disturbing or horrifying news and so the quintessential question, we should be asking ourselves is: how are we supposed to keep our brain’s in check in times like these?

I believe that many people do not realize just valuable and important the right mindset is. When you have the right mindset, you can truly achieve and accomplish all that you can. So, how does one get into the right mindset?

Firstly, I believe it is important to acknowledge the fact that your mental health is a priority and also acknowledge that it is something that needs to be checked up on every day, every hour and every minute. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary , “ Mental Health is the condition of being mentally and emotionally sound , and is characterized by the absence of mental illness by adequate adjustment of especially as reflected in feeling comfortable about oneself , having positive feeling about others and the ability to meet the demands of daily life.

Unfortunately, mental health issues in general are still poorly understood and is often surrounded by prejudice, ignorance and fear. Many employees would rather ‘suffer in silence’ than admit that they suffer from a mental illness. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), depression will be the second highest cause of morbidity in the world by 2020, and honestly, now is the time for employers not to bury their heads in the sand and kind of hope for the best. I believe, now is time for employers to be deliberate in finding out about the mental, physical and emotional well-being of their employees.

As a Mental Health Activist, and as someone who has overcome a mental health illness, below arefive simple things I practice every day that help me and support my mental health. And in recent months, with all the hard days we’ve all been living, with the uncertainties and fear of the unknown, and with my anxiety skyrocketing for about a month , these practices have proven even more beneficial and paramount to my mental health.

1. Mediation.

It matters that you take the time to sit quietly and allow yourself to just be. I practice meditation early in the morning for 20 minutes and again in the evening. Setting an intention to meditate, even if it’s just for 5 minutes day can do wonders.

2. Reading.

After my morning meditation , I then make my way to my favourite place right now: my garden. I take the time to read my daily devotionals, my Bible and I begin to journal. I begin to journal my emotions, feelings and patiently wait on the Lord to speak. This has been the best way to start my day guided and supported, no matter how I’m feeling that morning.

3. Listening to music.

After my meditation and reading, I start listening to worship songs. I leave a playlist running all day. It is comforting and is beautiful for me. I really believe that music is a powerful tool. I also listen to Lo- fi / Jazz music.

4. Move. Move. Move

As part of my physical rehabilitation programme, I do 30 minute back exercises and arm exercises. Normally , I do them 3 times a week and see my physiotherapist , hand therapist and spinal physio therapist every second week. I thoroughly enjoy walks around the block , and have recently starting jogging. Moving at least 20–30 minutes each day , really helps calm your mind and it alleviates the stress and anxiety.

5. Self-check-ins.

Last but certainly not least, take a few minutes a day to check in with yourself. Be honest with yourself, tune in with how you truly feel, scan your body, and ask yourself, “how do I feel today?” “What do I need today?” This simply means allowing yourself to feel and honour what your body and mind are going through. If your body feels tired, take a break. If you feel overwhelmed, stop and rest. If you need help, ask. If you’re feeling alone, reach out to someone. If you feel emotional, cry. Basically, it’s about giving yourself permission to feel all the good and bad, and everything in between. We are living in unprecedented times, and no one knows what is the “right thing” to do. We are all learning. We are all growing.

Among everything listed above, checking in with yourself is by far the most important practice you can do. Because without it, your mental health may struggle. This is the best act of self-love, by staying true to you.

You choose what works for you and makes you feel good. Some days it will come easily and naturally; some days it will be hard. Remember, it’s about the purposeful way of living life day after day. It’s about knowing that you are worthy of the time you make for yourself, and practice the things that lift you up and sustain your mental and physical health. It is never too late to reset and recharge.

--

--

Batha Mthombeni

Creative Civil Engineer| Polytrauma Survivor| Aspiring Author| Encourager | Founder:@field_andflourish